执业范围

营养学和营养治疗学的执业范围包括认可营养师所执行的一系列职责、活动和法规。香港认可营养师学院(HKAAD)设定了最佳的执业标准,树立了专业水平,并为保护会员和公众提供了内部纪律机制的基础。认可营养师应对他们的专业能力负责,并在其资格和专业知识的范围内以诚信和诚实的态度执业。

认可营养师提供的服务是以Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics 2017制定的营养护理程序(Nutrition Care Process (NCP))为准则。营养护理程序是用于病人/客户/群体营养护理的一种有系统及标准的流程,涉及不同和执行互相关连的工作(即营养评估、营养诊断、营养干预以及营养监测和评估),并使用了标准化的语言。

医学营养治疗(Medical Nutrition Therapy (MNT))是以实证科学为基础,利用营养护理程序旨在为个人/团体提供具有成本效益的全面营养护理,以预防、延迟或控制疾病和/或其状况。医学营养治疗是一种具标准且有系统的营养护理程序,利用营养干预的所有范畴,包括于营养术语参考手册  (Nutrition Terminology Refernce Manual - Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics 2014版)中定义的食物和/或营养输送、营养教育、营养咨询及营养护理的协调。

认可营养师会利用营养护理程序的工作流程来启动丶调整和监控医学营养治疗(MNT)。包括:对营养状况作出深入评估、以营养为重点的体格检查 (Nutrition-focused physical examination) 、推荐执行/诠释与营养有关的测试结果(例如:体格测量结果、医疗检验)、遵从医生转介或委托的要求,建议与营养相关的体验测试、要求和监控营养干预措施(例如:处方餐单和/或饮食计划、医疗食品、营养补充剂、非处方药物以及肠内/肠胃外喂饲处方)。

执业范围、服务和活动

认可营养师可在食品生产、食品安全、食品供应系统管理、公共卫生、社区营养、信息和通信技术或研究等相关的不同领域执业。

医疗服务
认可营养师可以在医院、社区诊所或康复中心、长期及短期或紧急生活辅助设施中提供服务和/或工作。 服务和活动包括营养教育、医学营养治疗、营养咨询、安排出院计划、护理协调及对营养相关的疾病及情况作出预防及治疗。

商业与营养信息
具有相关技能的认可营养师能有效地检索和利用营养相关的信息,以解决业务和营养信息技术方面的问题,并做出决策。 认可营养师可担任与营养相关业务的顾问、经理、设计师和负责人,以参与、管理和指导相关业务。 这些业务可包括传媒业、饮食业和零售业、与农业相关的企业等。可通过面对面或线上提供营养服务,例如: 营养分析、菜单/食谱设计、文章撰写等。

健康与保健
认可营养师必需拥有使个人或团体改善生活方式和行为的知识和咨询技能,以为他们实现并维持健康状态。认可营养师可在医疗保健/健身设施中心担任健康和保健教练。

社区与公共卫生
认可营养师能够监测、教育、建议和倡导与人口营养相关的健康、计划及问题。他们可以在不同机构和学校担任营养领导者、教育家、顾问和研究人员。

企业与私人执业
认可营养师可以在企业及私人执业诊所工作,作为提供营养服务和产品的企业家或创新者。他们亦可担任商业或非牟利机构及企业的专业演讲者、顾问、代言人、作家、撰稿人、厨师和健康顾问等。
餐饮服务
认可营养师可管理和指导建设于医疗设施和机构中餐饮服务的运作。

学术研究
认可营养师能够诠释、应用和指导与食品技术、营养科学和饮食治疗有关的科研结果。 他们可以受雇于学术/商业/非牟利机构的常规和临床研究。 认可营养师的工作和职责可包括申请及管理研究拨款丶进行与营养相关的研究、教学、制定政策和提出建议等。

校园营养
认可营养师可以于牟利和非牟利组织的餐饮服务工作,担任教育家、经营者、经理或顾问。 他们会根据最新及相关的饮食指引以促进、实施、诠释和管理学校的营养膳食计划。

运动营养 运动创伤及高活动量人士提供饮食建议,以支援运动训练、提升体能表现、补充营养和促进伤后康复。他们可于体育学院、学校/学院/专业/私人体育组织、军事机构和康复中心作为个人/团体运动员的顾问/教练。。

请浏览最新版本的专业实务范围

Scope of Practice

Scope of practice in nutrition and dietetics includes the range of roles, activities and regulations within which accredited dietitians perform.  The Hong Kong Academy of Accredited Dietitians (HKAAD) has set standards for best practice, fostered professionalism, and provided the basis for internal disciplinary mechanisms for the protection of members and the public.  Accredited Dietitians are responsible for their competence and to act with integrity and honesty and within the limits of their qualifications and expertise.

The services provided by Accredited Dietitians will be guided by the Nutrition Care Process (NCP) developed by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics 2017).  The Nutrition Care Process is a systematic and standard process for patient / client / population nutrition care and involve distinct and interrelated implementation of workflow practices (namely, nutrition assessment, nutrition diagnosis, nutrition intervention and nutrition monitoring and evaluation) and utilizes a standardized language.

Medical nutrition therapy (MNT) is the evidence-based application of the Nutrition Care Process to provide cost-effective comprehensive nutrition care for the prevention, delay or management of diseases and/or condition, in individuals / groups.  MNT is the standard and systematic nutrition care process that utilizes all domains of nutrition intervention, including food and/or nutrient delivery, nutrition education, nutrition counselling and coordination of nutrition care as defined in the Nutrition Terminology Reference Manual (published by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics 2014).

Accredited Dietitians utilize the NCP workflow in the initiation, adjustment and monitoring of MNT.  It may include: in-depth assessment of nutritional status, nutrition-focused physical examination, recommend / perform / interpret nutrition-related test results (such as anthropometric findings, laboratory tests), order nutrition-related laboratory tests (with granted or delegated order from referring physician), order and monitor nutrition interventions (such as prescribed diets and/or meal plan, medical foods, dietary supplements, over-the-counter medications, and enteral / parenteral feeds).  

Practice Areas, Services and Activities

Accredited Dietitians may practice in diverse areas such as food production, food safety, food systems management, public health, community nutrition, information and communication technology, or research.   

Healthcare 
Accredited Dietitians may provide services and/or work in hospitals, clinics community / rehabilitation centers, long-term and post-acute or assisted-living facilities.  Services and activities include nutrition education, MNT, counseling, discharge planning, care coordination, prevention and nutrition management of diseases and medical conditions.

Business & Nutrition Informatics
Accredited Dietitians possess the skill for effective retrieval and use of nutrition-related information for problem solving and decision making in business and nutrition-information technology.  Accredited Dietitians may be employed as consultants, managers, designers and official bearers for the participation, management and direction of nutrition-related business.  This includes the media industry, culinary and retail, corporate or agribusiness; through in-person or via telehealth nutrition practices, such as nutrient analysis, menu/recipes design, journal writing, etc. 

Health and Wellness
Accredited Dietitians possess the knowledge and counseling skills needed to empower individuals or groups to implement lifestyle and behavior changes to achieve and maintain wellness.  They may work as health and wellness coaches in health-care/fitness facilities.

Community & Public Health
Accredited Dietitians are able to monitor, educate, advice and advocate on nutrition-related population health/programs/issues.  They may act as leaders, educators, consultants and researchers, in various organizations and schools.

Entrepreneurial & Private Practice
Accredited Dietitians may work in private practice as entrepreneurs and innovators for the provision of nutrition products / services.  They may act as professional speakers, consultants, spokespersons, writers, journalist, chefs, wellness coaches etc. for profit- or non-profit organizations and businesses.

Food Service
Accredited Dietitians may manage and direct foodservice operations in health care and other settings.

Research & Universities
Accredited Dietitians are able to interpret, apply and instruct research findings related to food technology, nutrition science and dietetic practice.  They may be employed in general and clinical research, in academic / commercial / non-profit organizations.  Accredited Dietitians' work and responsibilities may include the application / management of grants / nutrition-related research, teaching, the developments of policy and recommendations.

School Nutrition
Accredited Dietitians may be employed in profit / non-profit organizations, including catering / food service companies, to act as educators, operators, managers, or consultants.  They promote, implement, interpret and manage school nutrition programmes based on updated and relevant dietary guidelines.

Sports Nutrition
Accredited Dietitians are able to promote / guide optimal physical performance through nutrition intervention, the prevention and management of nutrition-related sport injury, and the management of food provision for the active.  They may be employed as consultants / coaches for individual / group athletes, including sports institute, school / college / professional / private sport organization, military and rehabilitation centers.

Click to retrieve the newest version of
Scope of Practice of the HKAAD (April 2019)